Mulder, it’s me.

This first entry will serve as a small autobiographical introduction, but I promise that future entries will be less self-absorbed and definitely more creative.

My name is James Oliver. I was born in November 1997, which, at the time of writing, makes me eighteen years old. My place of residence is England. I usually live in the North, tucked away amongst the sheep-infested hills and the farmers that tend them. No, I’m not a farmer, but my family does own a field. And a tractor. Right now, I live at Edge Hill University, which is still fairly northern but not quite as northern as my home.

I’m studying Creative Writing! Unfortunately for you poor souls, this means that I’m a writer, which obviously means I might ramble a bit when I get into the swing of this blogging thing. I’m not published, and, if I’m honest, I prefer to write fanfiction more than anything, but my aspirations are somewhere near the BBC. I’ve actually primarily started this blog so I can keep track of the writing I’m going to be doing throughout my course, so you’re welcome to come along on this journey with me.

I’m a reader, too, just like you. I personally prefer dystopian and LGBT+ fiction to blogs, but, hey, whatever floats your boat. My favourite book is Benjamin Alire Sáenz’s Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. I’ll probably write a review on it at some point, because damn, it is a good book. Television shows such as Game of Thrones, Orphan BlackDaredevil andF.R.I.E.N.D.S. (to name a few) are all of great interest to me, along with films such as Kingsman: The Secret Service and most of the X-Men and Marvel movies. I’m a nerd for Star Trek, too, especiallyVoyager and The Next Generation, and I’ve just recently gotten into Star Wars after a lifelong struggle.

I’m queer. If you want an official label, I’m pansexual (i.e. attracted to everyone and anyone, regardless of gender), but I’ve been called gay and bi more times than I can count. So long as the rainbow flag is flying, I don’t mind what you call me. I’m transgender too, and I use he/him pronouns, even if I do still look pretty feminine on the outside. If you’re at all bothered with those personality devices and quizzes and whathaveyou, my moral alignment is chaotic neutral, and I flit between ISTP and ESTP on the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. If you’ve never heard of the alignment test or the MBTI, I just wasted a few seconds of your life. Even if you have heard of them, I probably still wasted a few seconds of your life.

Just in case you wanted to stalk me or discuss common interests, here are a few of my likes and dislikes:

Likes: dogs, space, human science, camping, magic tricks, Scrabble, sushi.

Dislikes: spiders, zombies, late nights, horror movies, criticism.

And… that’s about it. You’ll probably end up learning more about me if/when I post entries discussing my life alongside creative work and reviews and whatever else happens to fall under my radar, but feel free to bookmark this entry for future reference. My Tumblr ishere, if you want to see the less-orderly (but more longitudinal) side of my life.

Thanks for reading!

P/S. Regarding the title of this entry: yes, I am a fan of The X-Files. Yes, I will probably occasionally reference The X-Files. Yes, you should watch The X-Files.

Leave a Reply

