Taught

A short creative response to ‘The Sun, One Saturday’ from Dinesh Allirajah’s Scent: The Collected Works.

 

My parents taught me shame

Made me hide my body away when it changed and grew

 

My teachers taught me anatomy

Then reminded me that it was something not to discuss

 

My friends taught me embarrassment

Humiliated me when my body did things I couldn’t control

 

My society taught me hatred

Highlighted my faults and flaws and failings

 

I taught myself disgust

Because I had never been taught anything else

 

But you, you, you

You taught me to forget what everybody else had taught me

You taught me to forget what I had taught myself

You taught me to enjoy my body, to appreciate my reflection

You taught me to embrace myself for who I am

 

You taught me more than anyone ever had

You taught me love

 

 

Thanks for reading.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Beautiful – and spot on! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

